Board Members

The ISBA has an elected Board of Trustees.  The board consists of between eight and 12 members. In addition, Scottish schools are represented by the Chairman of the Scottish Bursars' Association who is a co-opted member. 

The members of the ISBA Board are all serving bursars or school business managers and bring expertise from a variety of backgrounds. They use their wealth of knowledge and experience to provide strategic direction to the association.

Board members serve for three years and they may seek re-election for a further period of three years. After this they leave the Board unless elected either Vice Chairman or Chairman.  The Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected at each Annual General Meeting (AGM) and may not hold office for more than three years. The ISBA is governed by its Articles of Association.


ISBA Board Members 2020 - 2021


Board of Trustees for 2020/2021:

  • Eleanor Sharman - ISBA Chair and Bursar, Rendcomb College
  • Neil Cufley - Director of Operations, Royal Russell School
  • Jim Doherty - ISBA Chair of FRAAC and Chief Operating Officer, Loughborough Schools Foundation
  • Paul Flowerday - ISBA Vice Chair and Bursar and Clerk to the Governors, Micklefield School
  • Miles MacEacharn - Bursar and Clerk to the Governors, Exeter School
  • Jonathan Molloy - Bursar, The Mary Erskine School
  • Norman Patterson - Bursar, Luckley House School
  • Kathryn Pillar - Bursar, Rydes Hill School
  • Liz Raper - Bursar, Queen Margaret's School, Escrick
  • Nick Shryane - ISBA Vice Chair and Bursar Harrow School
  • Amanda Webb - Bursar, Lady Barn House School
  • John Wilder - Bursar, Moulsford Preparatory School


The ISBA Board must hold at least three meetings a year.  In practice, the Board aims to meet during January, March, May, July and November.